WE50 awards

Founded by the Women’s Engineering Society in 2016, the WE50 awards are a UK event linked to International Women in Engineering Day (INWED) – the global celebration of women in engineering that takes place on 23 June each year.

The WE50 raises awareness of the skills shortage facing the industry, highlighting the huge discrepancy between the number of men vs. women currently in engineering professions. ​The awards aim to change perceptions while encouraging young women to consider engineering as a viable and rewarding career.

​In 2015, the United Nations signed a historic declaration to mark its 70th anniversary. They committed to achieving sustainable development in its three dimensions – economic, social and environmental, and created the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, with 17 Sustainable Development Goals which you can see here.

In December 2019, the United Nations held the COP25, the Climate Change Conference in Madrid, which brought the world together to consider ways to strengthen the implementation of the Paris Agreement. COP25 came at a time when new data showed the climate emergency is getting worse every day, and is impacting people’s lives everywhere, whether from extreme heat, air pollution, wildfires, intensified flooding or droughts. ​More on the climate change here.

These two initiatives are why the Women’s Engineering Society will recognise the Top 50 Women who are involved in sustainability in engineering or an allied discipline in 2020.

If you, or a colleague or someone you know, are involved in the formulation and/or delivery of sustainable strategies and solutions, addressing the challenges of the Climate Emergency, Net Zero Carbon and/or delivery of the Sustainable Development Goals, then please make a nomination for the Top 50 Women in Sustainability as we celebrate the women who #ShapetheWorld.

Important WE50 dates:

​8 March 2020 – #WE50 Nominations open
27 April 2020 – 12 noon #WE50 nominations close
11 May 2020 – #WE50 winners notified
23 June 2020 – #WE50 winners announced

Nominate now